Board of Directors

The Government has appointed members to Metsähallitus Board of Directors for 1st of April 2022 – 31st of March 2025.

The Role of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversees and exercises control over Metsähallitus’ operation. It is responsible for the strategic management and governance of Metsähallitus and the proper organisation of its operations. The Board also ensures that Metsähallitus’ bookkeeping and financial management are organised appropriately and, in particular, that Metsähallitus complies with the decisions and orders of Parliament and other authorities.

If necessary, the Board of Directors issues instructions to the Director General.

The Board is supported by an audit committee as well as an appointments and rewards committee, which assist the Board by preparing its tasks and decisions.

Päivi Huotari


LL.M, trained on the bench

Sanna Paanukoski

Vice chairman

Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

Tanja Joona

Board member

Docent, University of Lapland

Keijo Kallunki

Board member, repsesentative of Metsähallitus' personnel

Specialist, Communications, Metsähallitus Forestry Ltd

Jussi Saukkonen

Board member

Director, Finance, Development and HR, Isku Interior Ltd
Chairman of Metsähallitus Audit Committee

Tuija Suur-Hamari

Board member

Managing Director, Wipak Oy

Ismo Tiainen

Board member

Director General, Ministerial Governance and International Affairs, Ministry of the Environment

Roope Uusitalo

Board member

Professor, University of Helsinki

Heli Lehtonen


Financial Director, Metsähallitus